Europe · Finland · plain · Russia · travel · traveling · trip

On the Way to Russia

When I was back from Norway to Turku, I had 12 hours to prepare for my next trip from the northern point of Europe to the southern – to Sochi, Russia. Why Sochi? Because it is my home, which I miss so badly. I miss the sun, warmth, great southern food, and most of all I miss the Caucasus mountains and Black Sea.

I got used to travel to that place taking train from Moscow. There are different kinds of trains going in that direction, some are cheaper and it takes 36 – 40 hours, or you can go by a more expensive option, and this trip takes only (!) 25 hours. I really recommend you to make such a trip at some point of your life. 🙂

Of course, it is always possible to fly there, and it will save much time, but I did not have courage to do it until this summer…  Unfortunately, flying is not the safest way of transportation in Russia, and I stayed away from it as long as possible.

This year I simply was time limited and could not enjoy both ways trip with the total length in 76 hours of transportation (from Turku to Sochi and back), so I booked the plane tickets. The price for plane tickets was basically the same as for train, and flying was way quicker. I was flying from Helsinki to Sochi and back by the Russian air company, the oldest one in the country. I tell you honestly, I had rather low expectations after using other European companies. And.. it turned out to be one of the best services I experienced in the air. In addition, the staff was very friendly and helpful, they were professional,  and the main issue –  it was a safe trip! I was very pleased with the journey, and I will definitely use the service of that company again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

