Copenhagen · Denmark · Europe · travel

Denmark

Another place to which I have never been to was Denmark. All my connections to that country were linked to Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales, which I was reading in childhood, and an ex-boyfriend, who was a Dane. This August, I decided to participate in the summer school in Denmark because I found the content of the course useful and… because it is a chance finally to get acquainted with the country.

?????????????

dk_4

After some time in Portugal, the country of social and warm-hearted people, all Nordic countries seemed so distant and even unfriendly. What a surprise it was, when Denmark turned out to be different!  People were into small talk, they were approachable and eager to help if I was lost, and… they always wished me a nice day! Unbelievable how much such a small thing can influence the mood. I really liked it!

Several words should be said about food. After a rich variety of Portuguese dishes, I was rather skeptical in relation to Nordic food. But Danish food was excellent!  It was sweet, sour, bitter, fat, spicy. It was full of taste.

Unfortunately, I did not have much time for sightseeing, but I still took a boat trip in small channels of Copenhagen with a couple of colleagues. If you are in a hurry and limited in time, I highly recommend you this way of acquainting the city. You can enjoy most of the sightseeing from the water.

dk_2dk_1dk_7

The view of historically rich and emerging modern buildings was accompanied by the sun going down… incredibly beautiful and romantic.

dk_12

I will be very happy to visit this country once again and to learn more about its great history.

Leave a Reply

